If you’re looking for a gaming laptop, you’ve got a few options. You can go for the traditional (just less powerful) NVIDIA RTX 2070, or you can opt for the slightly more budget-friendly AMD Radeon RX 5700, or even the newer RTX 3050ti. Or, if you’re looking for something with a bigger screen, you can go for the Lenovo Legion 5.

Our newest look at Lenovo’s Legion 5 gaming laptop arrives a little early, but we’re more than happy to oblige. While we’re still months away from the official debut of AMD’s Ryzen 5 5800H and RTX 3050T GPUs, this is the first we’re seeing of an upcoming model that has a 5-core, eight-thread Ryzen chip.

The Legion 5 is a very good gaming laptop, but it comes at a price. With a starting price of $2,199 and a starting price with the RTX 2070 8GB graphics card of $2,399, this is one expensive laptop. While the graphics card is not a high-end GPU, it is still an RTX card, which is supposed to be great for gaming. The amount of RAM on the laptop makes it very future-proof though, offering up to 64GB of RAM.

So I’m still on the lookout for the laptop that my wife dropped. After testing the Dell Inspiron 5155, I moved on to the Lenovo Legion 5, which I got on Amazon for a reasonable price.

The reason I selected this one was simple: the price was reasonable, and I had heard great things about last year’s model. I also had the opportunity to spend some time with the Legion 5 Pro, which was just amazing.

However, given that this laptop costs almost half as much as the Legion 5 Pro, I had to temper my expectations. I all, at $1000, how amazing could it be? Surprisingly, it’s really quite excellent! It’s only a matter of lesser specifications.

And after a good ten days with it, I can safely declare that my hunt is done. This one is going to be a keeper.

My full report from my tests may be seen below.

Specs as tested – Lenovo Legion 5 2022

Lenovo Legion 5 15ACH6 2022 Lenovo Legion 5 15ACH6 2022 Lenovo Legion 5 15ACH6 20
Screen 15.6-inch, IPS equivalent, 1920×1080 pixels, 165 Hz, matte, 3ms
Processor 16MB cache, AMD Ryzen 7 5800H, 8C/16T, 3.2GHz with 4.4GHz turbo
Video Advanced Optimus with AMD Graphics, Freesync NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3050 Ti with 4GB GDDR6 VRAM 60-85W
Memory DDR4 3200Mhz 16 GB (2x8GB DIMMS)
Storage 512 GB M.2 NVMe with PCIe 3.0 NVMe spare
Connectivity Wifi 6, Bluetooth 5.2, Realtech RTL8852ae
Ports 1x USB-C 3.2 DP 1.4, 1x USB-C with DP 1.4 and PD compatibility, 1x HDMI 2.1, ethernet, mic/earphone
Battery Charger with 60Whr and 230W
Size 363 mm or 14.3” (w) x 260 mm or 10.22” (d) x 23.57-26.1 mm or.93-1.03” x 23.57-26.1 mm or.93-1.03” x 23.57-26.1 mm or.93-1.03” x 23.57-26.1 mm or.93-103” (h)
Weight 2.4 kilograms (5.3 lbs)
Extras RGB keyboard with four zones, HD webcam with kill button, and stereo speakers

Construction and design

If you’ve seen the Legion 5 from last year, you won’t notice much of a difference in terms of design. That’s probably a good thing, given how well it was received.

The laptop is completely constructed of plastic, with a dark blue hue called Phantom Blue as the main color. The vents and bottom are black as a supplementary color. It’s a pleasing combination.

I’m not sure whether it’s the materials or what, but this laptop handled better than the Legion 5 Pro. Yes, it’s a bit lighter, but it’s also a little more grippier on the bottom. My palm was on the bottom vents, my fingers wrapped around the back IO, and I could use my other hand to open the lid at the same time. Very effective.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

The construction quality is excellent. During my testing, no creaks in the case were observed. The chassis had excellent flex, especially given the quantity of plastic utilized. I’m pleased with how long-lasting and high-quality this laptop feels.

The lid is made of a smooth, thick piece of plastic. In the bottom corner, there’s a tiny Lenovo logo, and in the opposite corner, there’s a Legion logo. The Legion logo has a prismatic coloring that changes color based on the angle of the light. It’s subtle, yet it has a nice aesthetic to it.

Lifting the lid is a one-finger operation, which I like. The lid’s lip is also great for getting a solid grip. The hinge is fantastic, since it is very strong and provides exactly the perfect amount of adjustability strength. This lid also rotates the screen 180 degrees.

The paint finish is the only aspect of the hinge that concerns me. It’s really a vehicle paint with a glossy clear coat, comparable to what you’d find on a car. It’s not very unsightly, but it’s extremely gleaming in comparison to the rest of the laptop. And I’m concerned about what it will look like in a few years. Just after turning it over on the table once for photos, I already have a tiny scratch.

When it comes to logos and stickers, there’s a lot going on beneath the hood. A Legion logo appears underneath the screen, and another metal Lenovo logo appears on the palmrest’s corner. There are additional stickers for the CPU, GPU, and hotkeys, which may be simply peeled off.

The bezels on this device are very tiny. The bottom bezel is thicker than the top bezel, which is typical of most 15-inch laptops. An HD webcam is centered in the top bezel and the lip.

The palmrest isn’t doing anything out of the ordinary. The chassis, including the keyboard deck, has very minimal flex. It has a complete keyboard and a good-sized touchpad, which we’ll go over in more detail later. A power button is located above the keyboard.

Unfortunately, the power button light is constantly on, but at least it serves a function. The color shows the power profile you’re using: red denotes performance, blue suggests quiet mode, and white indicates balanced.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

On this gadget, there is a good variety of IO. A single USB-C connector and a headphone/microphone combo jack are located on the left side. A USB-A port and a physical switch for disconnecting the microphone are located on the right side. By the way, I really like that switch. A tiny power indication light is also included.

The majority of the IO is located on the device’s back. Ethernet, another USB-C port, three USB-A ports, and an HDMI 2.1 port are all available. Both USB-C ports support DisplayPort 1.4, however only the back one enables PowerDelivery charging.

Last but not least, there’s Lenovo’s usual proprietary power connector on the rear. On any laptop, this is definitely my favorite power connector. It’s simple to set up, durable, and reversible. And since the cord is at the rear, it is out of the way.

When you glance at the bottom cover, the visual attraction stops. It’s OK, however; after all, how frequently do you look at that? At the very least, it’s practical, with large rubber feet and many air intake holes. It’s also a lot more grippier than the rest of the plastic, which makes it ideal for transporting the device. There are also more stickers on the bottom.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

Lenovo has created a beautiful design. Given that this is an entry-level gaming laptop, I believe nearly anybody would be happy with what Lenovo has to offer. I’m accustomed to higher-end laptops, so this would be great for me.

Trackpad and keyboard

Let’s start with the keyboard and speak about those input devices. I was expecting the keyboard to look just like the Legion 5 Pro I recently finished. Either it’s the same and I’ve simply become better at typing on it, or the key feel on this model is a bit stronger. In any case, I like typing on it.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

If you ask me, the key arrangement is pretty much the perfect layout. There are no squashed keys or keys in odd places, which is odd given that there is a Numpad and this is a 15″ model with tiny bezels. However, if you look carefully, you’ll see that the Numpad keys are somewhat smaller than the others. But I believe it’s a decent compromise, particularly because the Numpad is probably underused enough that it’s easy to get accustomed to.

The way the arrow keys are separated from the bottom row, rather from being crammed in there and destroying the right shift key, is something I particularly appreciate about the arrangement. Why isn’t everyone doing this?

To me, the main feedback is sufficient, and the journey is acceptable. I like how quiet the keystrokes are as well. The spacebar is the only key that produces a noticeable noise, and it’s not too terrible.

The keyboard has four zones of RGB illumination. It’s also entry-level lighting, with limited capabilities and less-than-ideal software for changing things up. It’ll do for now; just be prepared for some light leak under the keys. This unit’s color consistency was better than the Legion 5 Pro’s, which was intriguing.

Now for the trackpad, which is very good. It’s plastic, but it’s smooth enough that it might be mistaken for glass. But it isn’t, and you’ll notice after you smear it a bit.

Regardless, it performs well and tracks accurately. It doesn’t have the quality feel I’m looking for, and it’s not especially big, but it’s a step up from some of the poor trackpads I’ve seen in other gaming laptops, notably Alienware models.

And, once again, I prefer this version over the Legion 5 Pro. It has a less plastic feel to it, but more significantly, it is narrower. I know it seems silly, but I was having trouble with inadvertent palm touches on the Legion 5 Pro due to the trackpad size, and that isn’t the case with this one.

Screen

This device has a fantastic FHD screen. It has a 1920×1080 resolution, an IPS panel, and a 165Hz refresh rate with a matte finish. My panel does not have any backlight bleed, and the viewing angles are excellent. There’s hardly much to criticize, particularly since this is an entry-level gaming laptop.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

LG Phillips manufactured the panel, model LGD06A5. I don’t mind that it’s a 100 percent sRGB panel. I ran some tests on my X-rite i1 Display Pro sensor and came up with the following results:

  • LG LP156WFG-SPT2 Panel HardwareID (LGD06A5)
  • 97.7% sRGB, 70.3 percent AdobeRGB, and 73.3 percent DCI-P3 coverage;
  • Gamma (measured): 2.2;
  • On power, the maximum brightness in the center of the screen is 347 cd/m2;
  • 1197:1 contrast at maximum brightness
  • 6120 K (native white point);
  • 0.29 cd/m2 at maximum brightness

Those findings very much back up my claim that there’s nothing to complain about. The contrast ratio and maximum brightness are also above average. Color accuracy was also excellent. If you don’t require a broader gamut than 100 percent sRGB, you may use this for color-sensitive tasks.

Without needing to restart the PC, this panel utilizes Advance Optimus to switch between utilizing the dedicated GPU and AMD graphics. By deactivating the Hybrid mode in Lenovo Vantage software, you may change this mode.

But, unless you intend on using this laptop exclusively on batteries, I would keep Hybrid mode on. The Adv Optimus performed well and was free of the problems that plagued previous units.

Performance and hardware

The CPU in my model is an AMD Ryzen 7 5800H. It’s an octa-core CPU with a 3.2GHz base clock and a 4.4GHz boost clock. If you’re going to use it for school or perhaps work, this should be sufficient processing power for most jobs.

My model also has a specialized graphics processor from Nvidia, the GeForce RTX 3050 Ti. It’s a budget-friendly dGPU that sits between the GTX 1660Ti and the RTX 3060. Because this GPU only has 4GB of VRAM, the number of textures it can process is restricted. Even though it’s officially an RTX GPU, this effectively eliminates Ray Tracing.

16GB of RAM is paired with my hardware. It has 2x8GB of storage and may be upgraded if you need more. You should definitely think about it as well if you want to get the most out of this computer.

The truth is, don’t be misled by the flashy 3200Mhz specification. The CPU’s performance is restricted due to the fact that it is single ranked (1RX16). As you’ll see in a moment, I was able to enhance the findings by swapping out the RAM with some old dual-rank RAM I had lying around. Is it really worth it? It’s all up to you.

A 512GB PCIe 3.0 SSD is included in the package. As you can see from my CrystalDisk benchmarks, the speeds are excellent. On batteries, the speed isn’t much different.

If you can remove the rear cover, upgrading these components is very simple. The lid is held in place by ten Phillips screws, however disengaging the plastic clips that attach it will need a plastic opening tool. Then it detaches.

You get a nice view at the insides once you’re interior. The SSD and Wifi modules are located on the right side of the heatshield. On the left, there’s another heat shield with a second M.2 slot below it. More screws attach both of these shields.

In the center, there’s a third shield that’s kept in place by clips. This concludes the ram modules section. You’ll have to pull it up gently while unclipping one of the clips. Even though it doesn’t really important, I appreciate how clean the internals appear.

Lenovo Vantage is the master control software that comes preloaded on the Legion 5. This may be used for a variety of purposes, but one of them is to change the CPU/GPU parameters. Performance, Balanced, and Quiet are the three modes offered. Fn-Q may also be used to flip between these modes. The power button is even colored differently depending on whatever mode you’re in. Here’s a breakdown of what each mode does:

Quiet Balanced Performance
TDP PL1/PL2 CPU GPU TGP TDP PL1/PL2 CPU GPU TGP TDP PL1/PL2 CPU GPU TGP
30/20W 60W 65/54W 60W 85/80W 60-85W

On this laptop, I ran a variety of simulated benchmarks. I set Lenovo Vantage to Performance mode for my first run:

  • 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 13606 (Graphics: 15070, Physics: 25313); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 13606 (Graphics: 15070, Physics: 25313); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike:
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6433 (Graphics: 6110, CPU: 9191); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6433 (Graphics: 6110, CPU: 9191); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 64
  • 3DMark 13 – CPU profile: max 6503 16 6605, 8 5674, 4 3232, 2 1663, 1 -851
  • Graphics: 572 in 3DMark 13 – Port Royal (RTX);
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Extreme: 3485; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Standard: 3485; Uniengine Superposition – 1080
  • 1080p Uniengine Superposition Medium: 10541;
  • GeekBench 5: 1420 single-core, 7332 multi-core;
  • OpenGL 154.33 fps, CPU 2153 cb, CPU Single Core 226 cb; CineBench R15: OpenGL 154.33 fps, CPU 2153 cb, CPU Single Core 226 cb;
  • CPU 12808 points, CPU Single Core 1396 points in CineBench R23;

And here are the results of the CInebench R15 loop test on the Performance, Balanced, and Quiet profiles for the 2022 Legion 5.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

And how it stacks up against the Lenovo Legion 5 2022 and other laptops in its class from 2022. Extremely competitive.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

With Vantage set to Balanced, the following are the results:

  • 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 12566 (Graphics: 13715, Physics: 24140); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 12566 (Graphics: 13715, Physics: 24140); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike:
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 5741 (Graphics: 5420, CPU: 8656); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 5741 (Graphics: 5420, CPU: 8656); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy:
  • max – 6180, 16 – 6182, 8 – 5585, 4 – 3233, 2 – 1666, 1 – 853 3DMark 13 – CPU profile: max – 6180, 16 – 6182, 8 – 5585, 4 – 3233, 2 – 1666, 1 – 853
  • Graphics: 556 in 3DMark 13 – Port Royal (RTX);
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Extreme: 3154; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Standard: 3154; Uniengine Superposition – 1080
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Medium: 9745; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p High: 9745; Uniengine Superposition – 10
  • GeekBench 5: 1456 single-core, 7304 multi-core;
  • OpenGL 137.02 fps, CPU 1986 cb, CPU Single Core 225 cb; CineBench R15: OpenGL 137.02 fps, CPU 1986 cb, CPU Single Core 225 cb;
  • CPU 11685 points, CPU Single Core 1400 points in CineBench R23;

With Vantage set to Quiet mode, the following are the results:

  • 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 9399 (Graphics: 13239, Physics: 7303); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 9399 (Graphics: 13239, Physics: 7303); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike:
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 5664 (Graphics – 5411, CPU – 7710); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 5664 (Graphics – 5411, CPU – 7710);
  • 3DMark 13 – CPU profile: max – 3356, 16 – 3538, 8 – 2602, 4 – 1072, 2 – 438, 1 –255 3DMark 13 – CPU profile: max – 3356, 16 – 3538, 8 – 2602, 4 – 1072, 2 – 438, 1 –255
  • Graphics: 568 in 3DMark 13 – Port Royal (RTX);
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Extreme: 3147; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Standard: 3147; Uniengine Superposition – 1080
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Medium: 8917; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p High: 8917; Uniengine Superposition – 10
  • Single-Core: 372, Multi-Core: 3795; GeekBench 5: Single-Core: 372, Multi-Core: 3795;
  • OpenGL 56.88 fps, CPU 1353 cb, CPU Single Core 142 cb; CineBench R15: OpenGL 56.88 fps, CPU 1353 cb, CPU Single Core 142 cb;
  • CPU 7751 points, CPU Single Core 497 points in CineBench R23;

You can only set an OC for the GPU if you go into the BIOS. I increased the OC to +100Mhz and ran some more tests in Performance mode:

  • 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 14065 (Graphics: 15589, Physics: 25320); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 14065 (Graphics: 15589, Physics: 25320); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 140
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6673 (Graphics – 6364, CPU – 9208); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6673 (Graphics – 6364, CPU – 9208); 3DMark 13 – Time
  • Graphics: 569 in 3DMark 13 – Port Royal (RTX);
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Extreme: 3612; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Standard: 3612; Uniengine Superposition – 1080
  • 1080p Uniengine Superposition Medium: 10992;

Finally, here’s what happened after I replaced the RAM with a 32GB dual-rank RAM kit:

  • 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 14109 (Graphics: 15668, Physics: 25316); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 14109 (Graphics: 15668, Physics: 25316); 3DMark 13 – Fire Strike: 14
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6732 (Graphics – 6371, CPU – 9918); 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 6732 (Graphics – 6371, CPU – 9918); 3DMark 13 – Time
  • 3DMark 13 – CPU profile: max – 6611, 16 – 6618, 8 – 5624, 4 – 3213, 2 – 1649, 1 – 848, max – 6611, 16 – 6618, 8 – 5624, 4 – 3213, 2 – 1649, 1 – 848, max – 6611, 16 –
  • Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Extreme: 3620; Uniengine Superposition – 1080p Standard: 3620; Uniengine Superposition – 1080
  • 1080p Uniengine Superposition Medium: 10958;
  • GeekBench 5: 1423 single-core, 8368 multi-core;
  • OpenGL 143.62 fps, CPU 2137 cb, CPU Single Core 221 cb; CineBench R15: OpenGL 143.62 fps, CPU 2137 cb, CPU Single Core 221 cb;
  • CPU 12885 points, CPU Single Core 1392 pts; CineBench R23: CPU 12885 pts, CPU Single Core 1392 pts;

Definitely great CPU performance. The GPU is also not terrible. These results are approximately 15-20% slower than what you’d get with an RTX 3060.

It’s also great to have the overclock profile baked into the BIOS. To be honest, I don’t see why it shouldn’t be used. The temperatures aren’t frightening, and Lenovo’s BIOS enables it, so the danger is minimal.

The effects of the increased RAM kit were not as dramatic as I’ve seen in other devices. However, depending on the title, it makes a difference in games.

Here are some of the game’s outcomes. All of these were taken with stock RAM and Vantage set to Performance + OC, as well as Vantage in Quiet mode. My findings are shown below:

FHD Performance with Overclocking FHD Quiet
Battlefield V is a first-person shooter that was (DX 12, Ultra Preset, Ray-Tracing OFF) Average frame rate is 86 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 67 frames per second. Average frame rate is 55 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 49 frames per second.
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt is the third installment in The Witcher franchise (DX 11, Ultra Preset, Hairworks On) Average frame rate is 59 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 55 frames per second. Average frame rate is 53 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 49 frames per second.
The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt is the third installment in The Witcher franchise (DX 11, Ultra Preset, Hairworks Off) Average frame rate is 70 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 67 frames per second. Average frame rate is 63 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 54 frames per second.
Horizon Zero Dawn is a game that takes place in the year (Ultra) Average frame rate is 67 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 59 frames per second. Average frame rate is 57 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 49 frames per second.
Cyberpunk is a genre of fiction that is based (High, Ray Tracing Off, DLSS off) Average frame rate is 52 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 45 frames per second. Average frame rate is 44 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 39 frames per second.
Valheim is a fictional world created by Valheim (Max Settings) Average frame rate is 52 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 47 frames per second. Average frame rate is 22 frames per second, with a low frame rate of 12 frames per second.

I also performed a single game test using a game that I am aware benefits from more RAM. Performance w/ OC was selected as the mode. In the same test, Horizon Zero Dawn averaged 73 frames per second and had a low of 65 frames per second. So that’s a 13 percent increase.

However, they are respectable framerates when compared to the standard system. The fact that the screen is FHD is very beneficial. If this were a QHD screen, like most higher-end laptops have, I’m not sure I’d say the same thing.

However, FHD at 15” isn’t terrible. And if you’re on a budget, this is a decent performance on a nice-looking screen that complements the hardware. I wouldn’t be disappointed if this were my first gaming laptop.

Noise, heat, connectivity, speakers, and other factors are all factors to consider.

The Lenovo Legion 5’s cooling system consists of a combination of heatsinks, heat pipes, and fans. It’s comparable to what was utilized on the Y560 a few generations ago, and it’s also similar to what I saw on the Legion 5 Pro recently.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

It also works just as well. CPU temperatures are typically in the mid-to-high 40s during regular usage. Because the heat sink is large enough, opening Chrome and doing light activities has only a little impact on the CPU temperatures.

The fans are always running at a low speed, between 26 and 28 dB. Unless the room is absolutely quiet, I don’t even realize they’re on. And that’s one of the best things about this laptop: apart at gaming fan speeds, it hardly produces any noise. There isn’t even a coil whine.

The thermals start to increase once you start gaming. My CPU averaged 80 degrees Celsius and peaked at 90 degrees Celsius over a long session of Horizon Zero Dawn in Performance mode. At 72 degrees Celsius, the GPU stabilized. All of the outcomes were positive.

While gaming, the fan noise was not too loud. 44 dB isn’t bad, particularly given the tone was a low whoosh rather than the higher-pitched spin heard on lesser fans.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

If the noise concerns you, try switching to Balanced mode, which reduces fan noise somewhat. However, since each game’s CPU and GPU needs are different, it’s extremely game-dependent.

Try Quiet mode if you want to go even farther. It reduces the TDP/TGP to the point where most games’ fans will be at 35dB. Your temperatures will improve as well. In the same Horizon Zero Dawn test, the CPU averaged 67 degrees Celsius and the GPU 65 degrees Celsius. Of course, this will have a significant impact on performance.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

Now, let’s take a look at the outside temperatures. I took one picture while watching a Netflix program and multitasking on battery power, and another shot while playing Witcher 3 for a long period of time. Here’s what I came up with:

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

*Daily Use – streaming Netflix in EDGE for 30 minutes, Quiet profile,  fans at <30 dB dB *Gaming – Performance – playing Witcher 3 for 30 minutes, fans at ~44 dB

Not too shabby. It’s amazing how well the palmrest remains cool when gaming, even with the fans running at high rates. I was using a lapdesk, but the temps on the bottom weren’t too terrible.

The temperatures were suitable for regular usage. It’s a bit warmer, but that’s due to the fact that it’s on my lap and the fans are running at a low pace the whole time. I, on the other hand, have no complaints.

This device utilizes a Realtech RTL8852ae module for WiFi. It has Wifi 6 and Bluetooth 5.2 capabilities. I got 470Mbps from a 30 foot distance from my router, which is perfectly enough. I also didn’t experience any connection problems when using it.

The speakers aren’t very impressive. They are downward-facing, but their position and angle make it difficult to conceal them at the very least. So it’s not like the sound is muted or something.

The volume of the speakers, on the other hand, is where things fall short. I was only able to achieve 70dB peak levels even with the Nahimic parameters adjusted. And it relies largely on sound bouncing back up off a surface. Otherwise, it’s closer to 65 decibels.

At the very least, the sound is of good quality. The highs are excellent, while the mids are adequate. However, they are lacking in bass, so don’t expect to hear much of it. For me, the bass fades out at 140Hz.

I suppose I’m keeping the worst for last. The camera on this device isn’t fantastic either. Even in good light, the picture remains blurry, despite the fact that it is HD. Low-light pictures are more difficult to capture and lack color. This camera does not wow me in the least, but it is functional. No, it isn’t a biometric system.

The sole advantage of this camera is the physical switch that turns it off entirely. I prefer this over a shutter since it fully disables the camera and microphone rather than just covering up the footage.

Life of the battery

A 60Whr battery is put in my device. I wish I could claim this is the largest they could fit, but there’s a large vacant spot just next to it. I first mistook this for a 2.5” drive, however there is no connection.

If you purchase straight from Lenovo, you can tailor the model to include an 80Whr battery with a bit extra research. Why would anybody desire a battery that is smaller?

I ran a series of battery life tests with the brightness set to 70% (about 95 nits). My findings were as follows:

  • Idle, Best Battery Mode, screen at 0%, Wi-Fi ON, backlighting off; 6.6 W (9 h 5 min of usage)
  • Better Battery Mode, screen at 70%, Wi-Fi ON; 13.4 W (4 h 29 min of usage)– text editing in Word with light internet use, Better Battery Mode, screen at 70%, Wi-Fi ON;
  • 9.1 W (for 6 hours and 36 minutes of usage) – 1440p 60Hz Fullscreen Youtube in Chrome, Better Battery Mode, screen at 70%, Wi-Fi on;
  • 9.7 W (6 hours and 11 minutes of use)– 1080p Netflix fullscreen movie in Chrome, Better Battery Mode, 70% screen, Wi-Fi ON;
  • 15.3 W (3 hours 55 minutes of usage) — intensive surfing in Chrome, Better Performance Mode, 70% screen, Wi-Fi ON;
  • 66.6 W (usage time: 0 h 54 min) – Gaming – Wither 3, Maximum Performance Mode, 60fps limit, 70% screen, Wi-Fi enabled.

It’s not fantastic, but it’s also not terrible. I was able to use this laptop without needing to plug it in, and I was able to get a predictable amount of usage out of it before needing to recharge it. However, if you can find a device with an 80Whr battery, I believe that would be ideal.

The power brick is 230 watts and has an odd form. It fits well in my bag, but it’s a bit too broad to fit in my usual charging brick storage bin. I’m sure I could adjust.

However, this device also supports USB-C charging. So, if you have a portable GaN charger, you can just plug it into the laptop’s rear port. It won’t power your GPU, but it will give your CPU a little boost and keep you operating.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

the cost and the availability

I bought the model I have from Amazon. The price is $1050 at the time of this review, but I was able to get it for $999 on sale. If you ask me, it’s a fair price.

For the most up-to-date pricing and configurations at the moment you’re reading this article, go to this site.

You may also purchase it straight from Lenovo, where you can change the battery if desired. However, you’ll have to pay a premium since the identical model on Lenovo’s website costs $1500. I’m sure they’ll provide discounts at some time, but what a pricing difference…

There’s also an RTX 3060 variant available, as well as an all-AMD device with a Radeon RX 6600M. Prices start at $1300 and go up considerably depending on the upgrades you choose.

There’s also an RTX 3060 variant available, as well as an all-AMD device with a Radeon RX 6600M. Prices start at $1300 and go up considerably depending on the upgrades you choose.

There’s also an RTX 3060 variant available, as well as an all-AMD device with a Radeon RX 6600M. Prices start at $1300 and go up considerably depending on the upgrades you choose.

There’s also an RTX 3060 variant available, as well as an all-AMD device with a Radeon RX 6600M. Prices start at $1300 and go up considerably depending on the upgrades you choose.

It also has some great other features too, with a fast and bright screen, a decent keyboard and trackpad, and some pretty good IO options. The list continues on and on: two M.2 slots, excellent build quality, 180° lid…

Seriously, this is a fantastic laptop for around $1,000. I’ll even put up with the fact that the camera and speakers aren’t excellent since they aren’t often terrific on higher-end laptops.

So, would I suggest it? Yes, particularly if you’re on a limited budget or are considering purchasing your first gaming laptop. This would be an excellent choice for that.

I would only advise more serious gamers to check at other possibilities first. With one of the QHD versions and higher-end 3070/3080 laptops, you may desire more. However, they will set you back at least twice as much.

And that’s the crux of the matter. This laptop’s worth is immediately apparent. And if you don’t mind playing games in FHD, this is an excellent choice. Or, if you can get one at a reasonable price, a 3060 model. If one arises, we’ll let you know.

But that’s the end of this review. I’ll be keeping this unit for the foreseeable future, so if you have any questions or would want me to conduct another test, please leave a remark in the area below.

Lenovo Legion 5 Review (2022 Model, Ryzen 7 5800H and RTX 3050Ti)

Disclaimer: Our material is entirely funded by our readers. We may get an affiliate commission if you purchase anything after clicking on one of our links. Find out more.

Derek works as a biomedical engineer in addition to being a tech geek. He loves dismantling things, figuring out how they function, and working out how to improve them. Spending time with his family, “do-it-yourself” projects like home automation, and jogging are among his other interests.

The Legion 5 is a gorgeous machine. With a sharp design and a large amount of storage, the Legion 5 is a machine that truly oozes class. But this is of course only the tip of the iceberg, the design is only one part of the story. The Legion 5 is powered by the latest AMD Ryzen 7 5800H and 8-core RTX 3050Ti, which is quite frankly one of the best mobile processor choices available today. On top of the processor, the Legion 5 features a large 64GB of DDR4, which is quite frankly the best in the market. On top of that, the Legion 5 features a huge 15.6-inch IPS screen with great 1080p display quality and awesome display. The battery life is. Read more about lenovo legion 5 rtx 3060 price and let us know what you think.

Related Tags

This article broadly covered the following related topics:

  • lenovo legion 5 rtx 3070 review
  • lenovo legion 5 rtx 3060 us
  • lenovo legion 5 rtx 3060 review
  • lenovo legion 5 rtx 3060 release date
  • lenovo legion 5 rtx 3060 price
You May Also Like

Top 10 Best Men’s Sweatpants in 2022 Reviews

We have tried all the best sweatpants at the market today to…

Intel Core i7-11800H vs AMD Ryzen 7 5800H Benchmarks Comparison in An RTX 3060 Gaming Laptop

This article should be useful to those of you looking for mid-range…

Top 5 Best Laptop Backpacks to Buy in 2022

Laptop backpacks are something that every guy should have in his arsenal,…

Aya Neo Review – AMD Ryzen Handheld Gaming Device

The AMD-powered Aya Neo from Handmaiden was announced late last year, and…